Dirty Ol' BC Forums: Alternator Replacement - Dirty Ol' BC Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Alternator Replacement Swapping to alternators with different plugs.

#1 User is offline   mjlqtown 

• Old School Weirdo
  • Group: Contributing Member
  • Vehicles:
    • 1991 Subaru Legacy GTRS BC
      1997 Subaru Legacy GT-B
      1989 Subaru Leone Omega Turbo
      1988 Subaru Leone GTX

Posted 02 October 2018 - 10:42 PM

Guide bellow was done on a BC/BF
Posted ImageYea right by Mitchell Lindsay, on Flickr

#2 User is offline   mjlqtown 

• Old School Weirdo
  • Vehicles:
      1997 Subaru Legacy GT-B
      1988 Subaru Leone GTX

Posted 02 October 2018 - 10:44 PM

Hey Guys,This post came out of necessity as my BC uses the hard to find, round plug Alternator. I am by no means a expert with electrical components.

So the issue being my Alternator is very worn on the BC. I had found a spare, but it had been sitting outside for a few years. Bits would fall out of it, but long story short. I ended up needing to use it.

Given newer alternators have a better chance of being less worn. I wanted to fit one from a newer model to the BC.
Normally what would stop you is the connection the alternator uses.With some research, I was able to find out what pins did what, their function and how to convert the car.

So there is a few basic things you will need.

1. A functioning replacement Alternator. Remember to check that it will fit by comparing the housing and mounts.
2. The plug and wiring harness from the replacement unit/ car.
3. A beefy soldering Iron, a 25 watt one like mine will not work! Trust me haha
4. Electrical supplies. Such as solder, electrical tape, heat shrink tubing etc
5. Optional but just in case. A fire extinguisher haha
6. Non optional multi meter, you will need this for testing.